Dear readers:
For our sixth anniversary in May 2010, The Caribbean Review of Books has launched a new website at www.caribbeanreviewofbooks.com. Antilles has now moved to www.caribbeanreviewofbooks.com/antilles — please update your bookmarks and RSS feed. If you link to Antilles from your own blog or website, please update that too!

Friday, 24 August 2007

2006 Guyana Prize winners

2006 Guyana Prize winners Elly Niland, Ryhaan Shah, Cyril Dabydeen, and Mark McWatt at the awards ceremony in Georgetown, 23 August, 2007. Photo by Jules Gibson of the Stabroek News

And the winners are.... Dabydeen, McWatt, Niland, Shaah, and Gilkes. The 2006 Guyana Prizes for Literature were presented last night (read a short report in today's Stabroek News). The full list:

Best fiction prize: shared by Cyril Dabydeen's Drums of My Flesh and Mark McWatt's Suspended Sentences.

Best poetry prize: Elly Niland's Cornerstones.

Best first fiction prize: Ryhaan Shah's A Silent Life.

Best drama prize: Michael Gilkes's Last of the Redmen.

No comments: